Winny in Java

Posted on August 10, 2008. Filed under: Java, P2P, Winny |




This summer I finally have the free time that I longed for. I always wanted to investigate Winny which is a Japanese P2P software.
There’s some functions that I needed but updates is impossible because the author is caught for making it.
So I think it would be good to create my own Winny compatible P2P client. Here’s some screen capture of it.
I uses Berkeley DB JE to store files discovered in the network and have Apache Lucene to index all the file names.
The result is pretty good and Lucene is working amazingly fast, but Berkeley DB JE is a bit slower than I expected..

I am able to search 200k files in about 11s. Query in Lucene takes 1 – 2s, but joining to data in Berkeley DB is unexpectedly slow. Maybe I need to do some more tuning.

By now I have implemented basic connections and queries, and it is now running in Port 0 mode, file downloading (uploading) is yet to come…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

